Me, My Camera & I

By notgraham

Fast Cars

With Avios "changing" to merge with British Airways loyalty scheme we took this as a klaxon to spend spend spend some of the mountain of points we've accrued over time.
With that I got a super car experience, which appears to be something of a roundabout show that goes to a variety of racing tracks with a number of "super" cars. Now don't get me wrong. There were Lamborghini's, Ferrari's, Audi, Porsche and Aston Martins there, but they were not what I would have called best of breed. Possibly 10 years+ ago when they were fresh out of the factory, but when get into one and the dashboard lights up brighter than your Christmas tree all is not well. 

Of the 3 cars I got to experience the Porsche 997 Turbo (it may have been a 996) was the most "fun". In comparison to driving the V12 tank that is a DB9. 

Venue-wise this was all held at Driftland in Lochgelly. A "technical" track with loads of turns for, well drifting around. Not really the sort of place to take some strung up caster cars round. It was no Brands hatch. I think you could to a circuit in about 45 seconds. Given you've got 3 laps and being quite small you hit "traffic" of other participants in other super cars on the track. So, you could dawdle round behind someone less confident of the vehicle they were in. 

The "hot" lap round in a Vauxhall Monaro (V8 RWD thing) was fun. Never have I had my foot buried into the carpet to stop me being thrown round the cabin as it went round at a fast pace of knots. 

Would I do it again - possibly. Given a different track to stretch the car's legs out it would be fun. I don't think I got most of the cars I was in out of 3rd gear. 

I came home after my early start to an empty house, to then go out and assist my sister put up a small fence, in near 30 degree heat. That was a bad move. Boiled by then end of it I was. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.