An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

PPPPick up a Penguin...

Backblipped 29.07.18


Artist and her penguin :-)

Had a great afternoon with my lovely friend Fiona.  

We went to meet up with her at her sister Lorraine's house in Broughty Ferry.  Her twin sons are in Scotland at the moment too as part of their gap year round the world trip so we got to see them as well, which was lovely.

The weather had turned wet, rainy and windy overnight and scuppered our plan to seek out some of the penguins on Maggie's Penguin Parade and visit the Beano Exhibition at the McManus Galleries but that aside, we spent so much time blethering and drinking coffee at Lorraine's, the afternoon just flew by!

Lorraine mentioned she had a dvd of old family cine film from the 1960s that featured my mum, gran and other relatives so she looked it out and put it on.  It was such good fun we ended up watching the whole dvd and of course the highlight for me was the end, seeing my family and Fiona and Lorraine's family enjoying a Hogmanay get together with lots of singing.  We reckon it was filmed about two years before I was born so my mum would be 24.  She looked so beautiful.

By the time we'd watched it the rain had cleared away so we decided to go and see Fiona's penguin as I really wanted to get a photo of her with it.

When we got there, the rain may have gone but it was really windy so it was a bit of a challenge to get a decent photo.  Took loads of photos of Tiaki.  It was only after I got home I realised I hadn't taken any photos of his back, which is a shame as it's exquisite!  I will be back to see him though so will rectify my error then.

We had a right giggle trying to take a selfie with him as you can see in extras.  

Fiona's given me a sticker book for Alan so he can had a day out tracking the penguins.  They're not only in Dundee but Brechin and St Andrews too.  Gail, that artist who painted our house was also involved in the penguin parade, painting not just one but two penguins.  I really hope lots of money is raised when they are auctioned off at the end of September.

All too soon it was time to head home so we bid Fiona farewell but will definitely see her again before she heads back down under.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.