Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Foxy Hummock, Handsome Hound

Casey is posing for me as I look East along the Pembrokeshire Coast for the last time before I start heading home. I will miss Ceridwen and every part of this enchanted place. I'll be here again in my thoughts every day until I return.

The hummock (grassy lump) beside him is at the very edge of a sheer cliff that's a few hundred feet high, and there was a fox turd on the very top of it. Foxes leave their poop to mark their territory, typically on top of something, in plain view. Unfortunately I could not include the fox poop and the misty coastline in the same shot, so I made the choice most likely to please.

The hummock is also an active ant hill, which is decades old. Here's a thought about the creatures who toil inside it:

"Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise. Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler, provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest."
(Proverbs 6: 6-8).

Below Casey on the rock face there were seagulls calling out with their familiar voices, and cormorants whose muted voices I cannot recall ever hearing directly, and might have just blended in with the rest of the general din. Just out of the picture to the right were new grazing ponies on top of the facing cliff. The park authorities see that they are moved to different sections to graze, and periodically collected to be seen by a veterinarian. Along the cliffs the bracken is brown but the grass and gorse are green.

Casey stands thinking as Nature's swarm, teeming with lives great and small, sees the close of another wet and beautiful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.