A male bullfinch waits for space at the feeder

I'm constantly watching the masses of birds coming and going between the feeders. Recently a pair of bramblings have arrived, never having been seen here before. I've also been pleased to see a small flock of longtailed tits flying around the trees and the feeders varying their diet, and singing to each other .

But the quiet song of the bullfinches is always a delight especially when they sit in this tree prior to flying the extra few yards to the feeders outside our backdoor. What a treat to have them in such constant attendance and so tame. I can often stand close by as they fly in from there, and then they eye me up as they scoff away standing on the tray with sunflower seeds; they don't fly away unless I make sudden movements.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.