Street

Out for a usual stroll with the camera in hand today, around the park in Cork at lunchtime. Took a few and then as I walked away, heard a woman shouting after me to stop. When she caught up she said two men had told her I'd been taking photos of her child. I had and I hadn't. 
I noticed the child in the way you do, part of a composition. She asked loudly if I'd mind her looking at my photos, defensively I said I would. Then asked my name which I refused, then I showed her the photo I've blipped above, which is her child, I've blurred the face. I said I'd delete it and actually thought I had, but was so rattled by the encounter I realised after I'd pressed some other button and still had the photo.
All sorts of scenarios ran through my head as we parted, she half apologising, me half explaining. She might have whipped out a phone and taken my image, put it up on social media as the perv who's taking photos of kids near the playground.
Even after a walk on the beach tonight I'm still slightly jangling from this. My own fault in lots of ways, but still, if I hadn't been so rattled, I'd probably have explained about Blip and all that. Sorry, just getting this out there. As my father used to say, better out than in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.