AliV

By AliV

Walk

Had a lovely walk this morning through the Dams to Darnley country park, which is on the edge of Barrhead and Newton Mearns.

Growing up in sunny Barrhead I had driven past this water all my life but only in recent years has it been opened up for easy pedestrian access as part of the country park. I have blipped the water a lot from my train commute as it hurtles by but it was nice being down next to it on the path for a change.

They are soon due to open a visitor centre which will be great, and I'm excited for how lovely this will all be. 

My geography teacher used to always point out they aren't Dams they are Reservoirs, but they are so widely known the Dams that I don't think the Reservoirs to Darnley Country Park would have had such a good ring to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.