HarrythePotter

By HarrythePotter

A curve of beauty.

I didn't take Art at school, this might not be the sole reason but I still remember it vividly.

Aged around 14 and in an art class being taken by the head of department, we were given the task of drawing freehand a Roman head piece. The teacher walked around looking at various pupil's work. He came to mine and said,
"That's supposed to be a curve of beauty, not a bent straight line!"

Well Mr Whoever you were, I think of your encouragement every time I shape a curve into a shrub.

Today has been a day of curves having pruned the hedges around the thatched property I work at on a Monday. I always mimic the lines of the thatch in the hedge.

After work I had to collect a friend's poorly Mercedes from a garage and deliver it to another long suffering friends driveway where it will sit until he next visits the UK to collect it for another visit to the car doctor. Thank you tired RF for your help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.