Desperately seeking

By clickychick

All Right

It wouldn't have been alright while I was a Radiographer, to just have the Rights. I would have had one plastic Left and one Right each with sticky tape to stick them onto x-ray film cassettes.

i much preferred the metal ones I was given when I started they have R cut out on one side and L on the other and fit over the cassette but one is missing. I also had one with the letters back to front. That was so the radiologist knew whether the x-ray was taken from the front of the body to the back or vice versa.

All of us carried a little note book with the exposure factors for the different parts of the body for each of the rooms we worked in. Mine was red. Kilowatts,  milliamps and seconds in different combinations. Then there was the badge for the Cumberland Infirmary School of Radiography given to successful students. They were made to my design.

So why this today? I was back at the holiday lodge doing a bedding change for the guests who were staying another week. They were to have been out today but one of the ladies lost her balance on Scafell Pike and broke her wrist earlier in the week. I had printed off a card for her of the robin they were feeding and snapped when I was there with them on Tuesday.

Our chatting brought a lot of memories back and I found my work memorabilia when I was looking for something else.

In other news a trailer I hadn't needed for years sold well on eBay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.