Arachne

By Arachne

Purpose

You remember shocking things. I remember asking a colleague if we could meet and her asking me the purpose of the meeting; she wouldn't meet unless 1. I could list the objectives and 2. she considered her time worth spending on them. It was 1984, in the early days of targets, indicators and activity analysis. I had no idea what the 'purpose' of the meeting was; I just needed to talk to her and a couple of other people about a project we were all involved in. 

I've learnt since that she was right; you don't have meetings unless you really need them. I endured 90 minutes of unfocused waffle today to reinforce that lesson.

I came home to a much more satisfying 90 minutes of garden and computer-disk tidying.

I must be due for retirement, mustn't I? Please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.