Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1375. Dummies changed into trains!

We visited my grandson yesterday and as usual Granny enquired about when he was planing to give up his dummy seeing as he was going to nursery in a few week’s time....
So he told me he was going to try again yesterday and why don’t we collect up all his dummies? So off we went in search of all the dummies we could find and although I’m not convinced we have them all....we did manage to find 8....so I offered to send them to the dummy fairy in exchange for two new Thomas the Tank Engine Trains....(which were hastily ordered from Amazon and delivered today). He is now on his way up to Granny’s to collect his trains having gone to bed last night without a dummy and slept in his own bed all night! I know it’s bribery but getting him to sleep in his own bed has been a huge battle as unfortunately modern parenting doesn’t seem to allow children to self soothe! My boys both whinged at bed time and there were often tears at the start but I always stood my ground and said no to them sleeping with us....and it worked...both of mine learned that if they woke up in the middle of the night they could just go back to sleep and if they cried I settled them once and then they were expected to just stay in their own beds!

But full marks to the wee man for finally giving up his dummy...at 3+ years it’s certainly about time!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.