Cloudy

'No!' I wailed  despairingly in answer to the question, 'Have you found one yet?' hollered at me from a distance across the fields. I hadn't even seen a Clouded Yellow, even from a distance!

I'd asked in the bird hide as to where to go and there is always a smart ass who wants to show you one they got earlier, which at the time didn't worry me too much.  A few hours later gritting my teeth and muttering under my breath in the heat I felt differently. However this particular guy said he'd just seen five waving his hand randomly towards an area I hadn't covered and maybe it was my look of scepticism that clinched it but he decided to take pity on my predicament.  Trotting behind him like a spaniel we reached 'the spot' and sure enough one flew past at a rate of knots - zoom .........! It soon became apparent that they weren't settling and the fly-by would have done justice to the jets at Fairford Air Show. However I got lucky after a few , quite a lot no millions of wild and futile chasing episodes and here you have it  - a speedily grabbed shot of a Clouded Yellow! 

Off out tonight for birthday meal - going to sweep it under the carpet as they seem to be coming every six months!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.