The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Tuesday 31st July 2018)

I'm very found of this rose campion and have grown it before, in the days before the garden turned into jungle. I think it came from C's garden, and these, growing in a tub, certainly did. The intense colour of the tiny flowers contrast so strikingly with the silver-grey stems.
Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting Tiny Tuesday.

L.
31.7.2018 (1757 hr)

Blip #2714 (#2464 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.60-18.3.10)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2018 #156/265 + #58/100 Extras)
Day #3051 (595 gaps from 26.3.10)
LOTD #1857 (#1698 + 159 in archived blips)

Flora series
Gardens series
Old Forge series


Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and D FA Macro 100mm F2.8 WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Mahavishnu Orchestra - Meeting Of The Spirits (recorded 14 August 1971)
John McLaughlin (guitar), Jan Hammer (keyboards, organ), Jerry Goodman (violin), Rick Laird (bass), Billy Cobham (drums, percussion).
At the turn of the seventies I used to pass through Birmingham on my journey home from college and would often stop to see gigs at Mothers Club in Erdington (my local), Henry's Blues (where I saw Fleetwood Mac, Chicken Shack, Taste, Boilerhouse and many others) and larger bands at the Town Hall.
I saw a lot of jazz rock/blues bands such as Jon Hiseman's, Mike Westbrook's, Keith Tippett's, Soft Machine (of course), Keef Hartley, John Mayall and so forth.
I didn't start a diary until 1974 so many of these events are consigned to memory but I do know that on 20th June 1973 I saw the Mahavishnu Orchestra at Birmingham Town Hall, having bought the album The Inner Mounting Flame  when it came out in 1971, and having seen them on TV for a one-off BBC Theatre concert on 25 August 1971, just a fortnight after recording this album. Suffice it to say they were quite good. By this time they'd released Bird Of Fire, which I have never owned. Jaki Whitren was the support act. I remember the name but nothing else about her.
The vinyl copy has long since disappeared and for some years I had no copy of the album on any format, but the 1998 CD remaster arrived here today. This is the opening track.

One year ago:
Smokey 1202 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.