The Many Adventures of Minny Blipper

He saw Marie.... in the middle of the swamp..... clearly in difficulties.  "Help me someone", she yelled holding her arms above her head.  "I can't swim very well..... I'm going to drown..... heeelp, heeeeelp".

Go on then, said Minny to the kid called Michel.  You've got the flippers, go save her.  (Little show-off he muttered to himself).

I ca...an...n't swim stuttered the kid.

Oh for Pete's sake, said Minny, Give me your flippers and I'll do it myself.  I'm Australian, and that's the one thing we can all do; we can swim.   He placed his camera and his precious newspaper carefully on the path. 

"Oh, help me someone - I'm drowning" screamed Marie, going down for the second time; entirely forgetting to put her legs down and feel for the bottom.

Hang on Marie, said Minny, somewhat unnecessarily, as he waddled off into the swamp.

It really wasn't very deep at all, not even in the middle where Marie was struggling.  He was sure her feet could have touched the bottom if only she hadn't panicked and sat down in the water. 

He grabbed Marie's arms and said "Quit struggling; I'm going to pull you out".

So he did, yet again, save Marie's life.  Or more to the point, she thought he did which was the main thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.