Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Spoti-fly

One of my favourite winter flowering shrubs now coming into it's own; the evergreen Viburnum is slowly filling with small pinky white flowers.

At first there appeared to be nothing around but staying quietly in one place I noticed in fact quite a few different sorts of flies coming in to feed on the nectar. The breeze didn't make any capture easy but my take on it was, that if I took loads of pictures, then on the law of averages at least one would be in focus! Up close like this dung fly many were just covered in pollen and spent a good deal of time trying to tidy themselves up!

I quite liked this fly (think I am getting a bit sad here) because of it's pattern of colours and spots while the flowers were really that pink. He is covered in pollen grains too.

After the blooms have gone masses of small purply berries appear which can be cut and brought inside for a Christmas display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.