Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Cannon Beach

You might recognise this from The Goonies....

After a couple of days baking in Portland we were well done so we drove to the beach after another unnecessarily huge breakfast and a final browse in Powell’s books.

Cannon Beach is just like Cornwall, even down to the demographic. It’s gloriously cool on the beach, this evening we wore fleeces which is a novelty and I swear I was even actually cold for a moment. We are on the coast for a few days then headed inland towards one of the areas where wildfires are raging - I rang the hotel where we will stay today and they said it’s safe there so I think we won’t change our plans unless the fires get much worse over the next few days. I think we should enjoy the cool air while we can

We had s’mores on the beach so I finally know what they are!

The Blip is of Haystack Rock, home to thousands of nesting birds including pelicans that flap overhead like pterodactyls.

We love Oregon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.