Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Woolies for sheep

Went up to my sister&BIL and noticed my sis has developped new arty skills with wool. From sheepswool she's made some lovely shawls and a sheep's head, a second is in making.

The wool she uses is shaven from the sheep and washed, but not processed into threads or so, it's like when shaven off. And she processes it with a needle, molding into shape and needling it down as to become felt.... that is how the sheep head emerges. The shawls she needled half, in the top as to get a collar from which the curls hang down.

My sis&BIL used to have a sheepflock at their farm, till 6 years ago, when my BIL decided to continue solely with agriculture. Thus my sis has always had a warm heart not only for her farmerboy / shepard but also for sheep and woolies and she's spun lots of threads and knitted and felted and crocheted pullies and slippers and dolls, the lot.

Now she's making new sheep :)
A few weeks ago when passing by from a village on Crete I spotted a "mountain" of wool, curly like my sista's shawl here ~ two piles of shaven off wool and discarded off as waste! I wished I could take those piles of wool back home and hand it to my sis as she knows so well to create beauties from that.

Thank you all for your recent reactions! Words and stars and favs, all so much appreciated ~ I must search time in coming days for reacting and surfing again over your journals ! CU & be Happy :)



backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.