Chicharrón* Man

I am sorry for the poor quality of this picture but I was lucky to catch the chicharrón man on his three wheeled tricycle as he pedaled down third street. He probably has delicious Mexican frozen fruit bars in the blue box as well as a selection of dried fruit, nuts, chips and other snacks in little bags. If it weren't for these guys', not to mention the taco trucks, all over town there would be a dearth of inexpensive and delicious food in this county...and it comes to you. No party is complete without a taco truck....
It was unusual to catch him alone on what is usually a busy road. It was also unusual for me to be able to pull up the camera on my phone without fumbling with it until the subject had pedaled off, or the light changed....

Once again my resolve to make some lists failed me today, although I did write down a few things. Rather than feel reassured and prepared for the worst by making lists, I think I feel that I am just tempting fate. 
There has been a definite uptick in the procuring of safety deposit boxes here. We had one for decades in our local Elmwood Branch in Berkeley and it never contained anything except some birth certificates. When it comes to fire, keeping important papers in a safety deposit box makes sense although getting something like a passport in a hurry might require something akin to the Italian Job.

We are now being told that we will need a special driving license with extra documentation to board a domestic flight by 2020. The lines at the DMV are requiring a day long wait or a months long wait for an appointment. When I was waiting to renew my driving license in March I didn't have the necessary documentation to get such a license because I didn't know about it, but I was told that a passport would also be acceptable, so why don't they tell people this?

The government seems quite capable of making rules and requirements, but equally incapable of hiring the people necessary to be able to achieve them. Or telling people what they need to know in order to carry them out. In the case of our president, they are usually so patently incoherent and opaque that nobody knows what to do or what is coming next. And he doesn't care....I'm rambling about driving licenses because I just can't bear to think of the 700 children who were kidnapped from the arms of their families and are still being held hostage, having been ruled 'ineligible' (by whom?) to be returned to their families. Even the judge who ruled that they must be returned doesn't seem to know what to do....

I'm putting a shot of the cover of the New Yorker in extras, not because it is entirely  relevant to these ramblings, but because it makes me feel better to look at it. I decided not to use the one with my Birkenstock firmly planted on top ....

*Deep fried pig skins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.