stujphoto

By stujphoto

Wee Bess & Wendy Sue

I had to grap a blip this afternoon before the rain came on. Fortunately I was in Dunbar and popped down to the harbour to see if there were any photogenic boats around. What caught my eye was a red fishing boat across the far side of the harbour that had a pile of lobster creels behind it on the quayside. However, I felt I needed some foreground interest and spotted another red boat beneath on this side of the harbour. In true photographic fashion I got down low to fill a substantial part of the harbour basin with this this boat. However, I could see there were going to be highlight problems with the sky and as I was using a tripod I took some extra shots well under exposed intending to drop the sky from these shots into my original exposure. However, what I had not spotted was a mast of the foreground boats bobbing around in the sky and this proved quite difficult when dropping in the lower exposed sky. Fortunately the foreground boats quickly became my principal interest and I took a number of shots of these alone which did not require any fiddling around. So what you have today is a bit a foreground that became the main subject of the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.