Summer Party

The distraction I needed.

I'm writing this for me:

Clive had just got on the Bristol to Newcastle flight when I received the call. Clive text me to tell me he had lost his wallet and did not know how he was going to get to his hotel.  

I wanted him in the hotel and settled before I dropped the bombshell. In the meantime, Henry rang one of his business partners to ask him to cancel whichever client he was meeting in Newcastle the following day. (I was a screaming, wailing mess at this point.)

The business partner rang Clive! So when he landed, he knew something was up. I tried fibbing saying I didn't know what Andy wanted and Clive said, but he spoke to you.

Of course I then had to tell the poor man. I could have been speaking a foreign language. He did not understand what I was talking about.

My next task was to arrrange a taxi as he had no wallet, no cash (actually £6 in change) and no cards. 

Clive got to the hotel and rang his brother who was now with their sister. She found him hanging in their garage.  Gary said the body was still there and the place was full of police.

That night went on forever. No sleep and a lot of tears.

The next flight to Bristol was Wednesday evening so I booked Clive the 6.20am train. A woman overheard he had lost his wallet and gave him enough money for a pastry and coffee. I told Clive he should have told her the whole sorry tale and she may have paid for a full English. How kind of her.  

Catherine, his PA, met his train and took him to Bristol airport to pick up his car. She also gave him enough cash to tide him over.

Clive then drove to the Forest of Dean to wrap his arms around his sister and offer what comfort he could. 

There's a long letter, the contents of which I am yet to learn. Clive says it is shocking and grim and terribly sad. I have said that perhaps I do not want to know - happier in my oblivion.

I spent yesterday feeling helpless and sick. Wishing to be with them but perhaps pleased I was not. I contacted our 3 nieces to offer (useless) words of comfort.

Early to bed on Wednesday. Clive left his phone charger at the hotel so was not sending me updates and I felt in limbo.

I slept soundly until 4am and woke feeling all was ok but soon realised, with a heavy heart, that it was all true. It had happened.

Today was the club Summer Party. Carol has been the heart of the club since it opened 10 years ago. She has made it what it is. She is so respected and well thought of and was presented with a bouquet to mark the occasion.

I love that place so much. We were busy with members and guests and musicians, with food and drinks and it was what I needed in bucket loads today.

Clive is staying with his sister. I think they are seeing the funeral directors tomorrow.

You never know what is around the corner.

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.