digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Dragonfly

Whilst eating my breakfast outside this morning, this dragonfly perched on a nearby oleander bush. He seemed fairly docile and didn't immediately fly away, so I grabbed the compact camera to get a shot.
I am quite pleased with the result which, to me, seems quite good for such a small camera. I did use the macro zoom setting, and I'm surprised the little fella didn't take off as the lens was only about 4 inches away when I took the shots. You can clearly see the two pairs of wings in the extra.

I think it is a dragonfly rather than a damselfly, as I understand the latter folds its wings against its body when stationary, and also dragonfly wings are wider where they join the body. I may be wrong - please let me know if I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.