Portrait of a Confused Labrador

If you think I look confused, you'd be right!

My human says I have two heads.

This is my Labrador head.

When I have my Labrador head on:
I can walk to heel, sit, stay (for a long time) and lie down. I can retrieve and carry something in my soft Labrador mouth. I like to sit in the sun and watch the world go by or play with a stick.
I know not to chase the chickens or join strangers walking along the footpath, and my human tells me I am a good girl.

However,
When I hear a pheasant squawking in the distance my Lurcher head takes over and I can't help myself.
I run extremely fast over long distances. I turn completely deaf to the calls and whistles of my human, I become a gaze hound following my prey by sight, and if I can't see anything interesting I am a scent hound, using my nose to full effect. I get so excited I forget to go home, then when I do remember to go home, my human makes me go in my bed and tells me I am a bad girl.


No wonder I'm confused.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.