Boiling Over!

Another day, another morning on the allotment harvesting! Can you believe  another full basket and extra bucket with Charlotte potatoes and more crystal cucumbers! My Hen and Chickens poppies are doing the last of the flowering and the seed heads are looking pretty  wonderful if a little strange! Just as I was ready to leave I decided to do my meditation - no-one else was around and it was just so beautiful and quiet. I do the daily meditation on Calm and what a bit of synchronicity - todays was titled Concerto, meditating on sound! So many sounds on the allotment - the wind rustling the trees, the mobiles tinkling, bees buzzing past, birds singing, seagulls calling and one hen having a right old squawk over something! 
In the afternoon I did stage 2 of the  Bramble Jelly process I started yesterday. Added the sugar and lemon to the juice that had been straining through a jelly bag overnight and put it on the cooker to simmer. Remembering I'd left my cup of tea in the garden I went to retrieve it and got waylaid straightening my dancing metal lady. On returning to the kitchen found my jelly boiling over and flooding down the front of my cooker! What a damn sticky mess! Once I had cleaned it all up I poured the remaining jelly into the jars - still made 3 jars!
A couple of hours later I realised the jam had not set - so tipped it back in the pan and put it on to simmer agin with my sugar thermometer ready to ensure I got it to the right temperature. You know what I'm going to say next ....although I told myself not to take my attention off it I went to sterilise the jars in hot water. Yes turned back to find it simmering over and flooding the cooker again! The jelly filled one and a half jars this time!! You can just visualise the extent of the clean up! Also in pulling out the cooker to clean underneath managed to damage the grill door so it won't shut properly anymore! Time to sit down and chill out watching an old episode of The great British Bake Off! They don't have this problem making jam - although they do have less messy disasters with soggy bottoms and unset puddings! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.