In Search Of The Barred Snout

I'm leading a wildlife walk at the weekend so I diligently trotted off for a site recce as it's been a while since I've been to the location. One thing I can be sure of is that The Public will throw some googlies at me, but forewarned is forearmed and I now have a list of things I can point out just in case things go quiet. One of the highlights I'd like to show them is the Barred Snout, Nemotelus uliginosus, and a particular 10 metre patch is the only place it occurs in VC55. On reaching the spot I was a bit dismayed to find the vegetation very rank and the magic patch almost over run with coarse sedge. Whether this is the result of flooding in the spring (when the whole site was under water) or just excess nitrogen I don't know, but it's a bit worrying, especially since the fly has not seen seen since last July. After an hour I did manage to find a single male, so it's still there and not yet extinct, but I do suspect its days are numbered unless the site maintenance improves. 


Sony ILCE-7RM2 
FE 90mm F2.8 Macro G OSS 
f11 1/100 ISO 1000 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.