Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Blackberries from Brčko

At the end of last year I was providing some videography support for a project based in Novi Sad, Serbia.


I usually take the bus to and from Banja Luka, but on this occasion a participant from Sarajevo, offered to give me a lift back to Laktaši.

On the journey home we stopped at an old friend of his, who lived in a small village near Brčko.

The domestic coffee was strong (as is the tradition here), and the hospitality superb, as usual.

On leaving, I was randomly offered some fruit cuttings to take with me. Feeling embarrassed to refuse I duly accepted.

Wrapped in paper, I brought them safely home.

They stayed in an outhouse over winter, and then planted in the garden in Spring.

It's now early August and the Blackberries are in fruit.

The quality looks first class.

What will they taste like?

Will we have enough to make some scrumptious jam?

Thanks to Muhamed for my safe trip home, and the graciousness of his friend.

Another Balkan Adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.