Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Woodpigeons on the move

200+ Woodpigeon seen on the move up Longdendale heading East. I reckon this is migration to Northern Europe ( is everything happening early this year ?)

Its the last few days of our CO-OP Foodstore ( Closes 11/8) and I met a neighbour in there who had not seen for ages we discussed sad news national, political and commercial and good news personal and avian  and felt better for it.  

As for the CO-OP its a sad story as its been a rush job to close it and sell it on. As a family we have shopped with the CO-OP as first choice nearest shop since the 1960s :-(

Watching the Woodpigeons I talked to a man with a long lens who I have seen before - he always seems to have seen the Brown Hares. We swapped sightings and lack of sightings but he won as he had seen Whinchat !

As I was getting into the car I met another Brown Hare and general Nature watcher and she agreed it was Woodpigeons. She is currently writing a Masters Dissertation on Song Birds influence in musical composition ! 

Its amazing who you can meet in an hour :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.