Cars, seagulls, and kayaks

The day started early (for us) with a trip to town for the old car's annual test.  Once that was dealt with we decided to eat breakfast in town. We could hear thunder and see lightning but there was no rain and the storm seemed a way off so we sat outside.
The fine seagull in the extra flew down and strutted it's stuff for a couple of minutes. Then it realised this wouldn't win it any of our breakfast, and it flew away to use its charms elsewhere. The storm arrived.
Later I paddled from Gånsvik to Smitingen, met up with Jan there and we swam and ate ice-cream, and swam again.  I'd thought I'd blip the cliffs forming the headland between the two bays but the sea was very broken there and required full concentration. No time for cameras!
The return trip was no better and when I reached calmer waters I stopped to lay my gear out on the rocks while I went for a swim in the fantastically warm water. I let the sun dry me while I read my book. (Always have a book with you!) Once all the gear was dry I loaded it back into the kayak and paddled the last kilometre, back to the jetty and the waiting car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.