Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Scaring

the hummingbirds with flash - and a colourful shirt. There was a violent thunderstorm and downpour on top of us this afternoon after which the hummers mobbed the feeders. I'm debating with myself as to whether I really want to freeze the wings as in the extra you can nearly discern the figure of eight rotation of the wings in flight beating between sixty and eighty times a second.  I might get serious about capturing them at some point but happy just managing to capture them in flight at the moment. Oh, and how do I manage to get a dark background when I was shooting almost into the sunlight? Feeders are best placed in shade and ours are on the north side of the house under deep eaves.

EDIT: Didn't mean to post hummingbirds two days in a row. Eagar Days today and tomorrow (Saturday) so I get out of my comfort zone with crowds of people. Let's hope the rain holds off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.