Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Catriona

Another long jog at lunchtime, and another terrible pace. I blame the strong breeze. At least my ankle and knees weren't worrying me afterwards, perhaps thanks to mynew pair of running shoes.

I also stayed in town after work to attend a lecture at the Royal Society of Edinburgh ('RSE') by Dr Suzanne Aigrain on Exoplanets. I did manage to ask her a question on how so-called 'Hot Jupiters' can exist given their gaseous nature and I think she convinced me that they are sufficiently massive to stop their material from being boiled off by the nearby star. I was also asked by one the organisers to take some pictures of the speaker, so that was a lot of fun!

This portrait is one of the RSE members of staff. You can't really see it here, but she's expecting her first child soon and seems really looking forward to the big day. I just asked her to stand in front of the many imposing paintings at the RSE for a simple pose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.