A Hardy Lot

This last day of the orienteering week was how I would describe a very typical Lake District O event.  A slippery mossy rocky slope in a forest with very intricate contours to get you lost. And of course some good old Lakes rain showers. Do you take a rain jacket or not? If you are travelling fast over the ground you will be too hot. You can see from this picture of participants waiting to start, that  there was a mix of decisions. I did take a jacket, still got soaked  and managed to complete my very short 1.5km course in 69 mins. You may very well ask how on earth I took over an hour to do 1.5km  but the ground underfoot was very rocky and slippery and the contours complex. I probably travelled twice that. How on earth the winner on my course managed 25 mins I have no idea.  I am pleased if I finish in twice the winners time, blew that today. I finished 13/15

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.