End of an Era

The Gumtree add worked brilliantly - eleven eager buyers and I punted it this evening for a roll of cash. And here's Mum's garage empty - she's not driving again, after all. First time since they moved into the house in Feb '66 that there hasn't been a car nestling in there. And how I remember them - the two tone Morris Oxford, the Land Rover SWBs (a green one, then a teal one), a Morris 1300GT which looked great (I thought) but which was gash, and a Morris Marina GT which was there when I left home. And I remember working on my own cars in there - a Morris Minivan and then a Minor van. Happy days in dungarees with the smell of the hot electric lantern.
The folks had other cars after I left; I recall a maroon Volvo that Dad liked as it was a good towing car, and in his later years, a green Honda which he thought very sensible. Then, after he was gone, Mum's lovely Polo with red seats and alloy wheels. And finally, for a month, my little Punto, otherwise homeless.
So there you have it. A private history of no interest to anyone else at all, but so precious to me. Good to get the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.