TusCat

By TusCat

Ashgill Force

Dear Hazelina, thank you very much four your advice! These pictures are dedicated to you! :-)

The weather looked better this morning and so I started on a long walk from Alston to Ashgill Force and back (possibly around 10 to 11 miles, including a couple of detours)! Hazelina recommended it a few days ago and I followed the golden rule of tourism... always do what locals suggest!

I wasn’t sure about the way to get there and so decided to follow the road to Garrigill (what a lovely little village!!!) and then asked for directions there! I found the waterfall without any problem and I was very lucky to have it all for myself for about ten minutes! What a magical place! In the main picture I am actually standing behind it, as Hazelina said I should do!
One of the extras is the waterfall and it shows the gap between the waterfall itself and the rock.

On the way back, I followed the South Tyne Trail, which, from Ashgill Force to Alston is the same as the Pennine Way. The weather was even better on the way back, with blue sky and puffy clouds! I saw a deer too, just a glimpse of its beautiful coat. Sheep and cows dotted the landscape and bunnies hopped all around! Colourful wildflowers carpeted the fields near Garrigill. And, above all, peace and quiet reigned.

Such a great day. So grateful I can see the beauty around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.