Here and Now

By Mole

History and Heredity

...was the subject of today’s journalling class, continuing with the theme of Influences.

This is a collage of photos taken before (bottom) and after (top) class. Blended nicely (not perfectly) for thoughts of light and shadows.

Met a guy who was married at St. Mary of the Assumption Church in Collinwood, where my parents were married. Masses are still held in Slovenian.

I would like to see the church and other landmarks where my parents grew up, but now it’s far too dangerous. I did some research and found disturbing crime statistics due to the rise of gangs in the area. Part of my history was hearing as a child how people living in ethnic neighborhoods were robbed and beaten. Poverty of the soul causes this violence.

https://www.cleveland.com/morris/index.ssf/2018/04/priest_nearly_killed_in_violen.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.