Chelsea Buns

Since we have the Flumlet for whole days during the summer holidays, I thought we might amuse ourselves last Wednesday by making Chelsea Buns. I have to admit that the baseline standard for these is very high, as set by Greasleys, a baker in Leicester's Haymarket, who, in my childhood, made the most twisty, fruity and moist buns ever, but when my children were small I often made bread and fancy buns like these, so approached the task with confidence
Before the Flumlet arrived I dug some fresh yeast out of the freezer and tested it to see if it was still active; it appeared to be OK, so we proceeded with the recipe. Unfortunately that is when the yeast went on strike and the dough sat in a sullen lump all the time we were at the playpark, while we were having lunch, even while we played marbles and watched some TV.  All day it just sat in its bowl, in the nice, warm sunroom, doing nothing. 
Not to be defeated, before I went to bed I kneaded in some (quite a lot, actually) rather elderly dried yeast (bought for the bread machine) and left it to its own devices.
Thursday came and went, the dough remained asleep. Friday came and went, but in the late evening, the dough suddenly showed signs of life, so today, (and regrettably, in the absence of the Flumlet) I made up the buns, baked and glazed them, and here they are, still warm from the oven.
I would like to announce complete success. But actually, though the dough is all it should be, they needed more fruit and sugar to be absolutely perfect. But I have bought more yeast so next Wednesday we might have another go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.