my name is not Liz Imbrie

By LizImbrie

light pollution

Tonight I walked back from work in the dark.
A combination of being last one out and the winter setting in. As I headed towards Harrison park, I was aware that I was about to walk up the diagonal unlight portion of the park.
I watched the dogs with their light up collars and balls (calm down at the back there. tsk).
I almost got blinded then run down by a cyclist with a flashy light coming towards me on said path.
Even the boy in the canoe on the canal had a light on his bonce and a glow stick on his boat.
Here, I stuck my camera over the bridge, held it steady, and hoped for the best. I caught a bike coming down the path (light on, of course) and the l.e.d. lights that line the path. I wouldn't cycle down there in the dark for any money!
I was amazed at how light the sky became with a longer exposure - light pollution doing it's best.

On that note - did anyone see the news about the LED lights in Sheffield? I would love to see them rolled out all across the country but it's expensive. One day when all the councils have loads of money....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.