Veggie-tating

While almost all TV networks are reporting the heat extremes at the top of the news, the UK media does by far the best job making it into a life-threatening situation for most of Europe.

I guess with Parliament on summer hols and with the PM and no doubt most champagne quaffing J.R-M's are in their holiday homes on the continent, there isn't anything newsworthy on the British Isles to report.

Personally, I have been haunted by the photos of the young midwife who went missing last week in Stoke-on-Trent and thus when the news came through this afternoon that her body had been found, I was deeply moved. We have to wait to find out what happened but from the minute I first saw her face, she struck me as being exactly the sort of person I would like to see at my hospital bedside. A tragic loss of such a young life.

Back home, I continue to vegetate in the heat. Activity restricted to staying apart from the odd dash to the pool or vegetable garden to get supplies. This evening the pool at 32°C felt refreshing.

Taking a leaf out of my daughter's book, I went for a vegetarian food day. The photo shows my dinner. Had to make a collage as it wasn't all ready at the same time. The starters of self-made humus (chickpeas from a tin and not the garden) with some olive bread and homemade very cold cucumber soup with a glass of Rose. Can't remember the last time I drank Rose but the bottle has been kicking around for a few years and I don't think it generally keeps too well. The first swig was a bit ...Uuugh ... but then as the meal got underway, it became very enjoyable.

I have never made cucumber soup and was astonished at how good it tasted. Very cucumbery and an added kick which I suspect came from using white pepper which I normally avoid at all costs.

Finished the starters just as the bell rang to announce the bean flan should be ready. The recipe was for just beans but as I have a glut of several things, added some baby carrots and peas. There is no base worth talking about, simply a dusting of breadcrumbs and thus the dish was not at all heavy. In the recipe, they recommend bread as an accompaniment. As I had already devoured the bread, I ate it "neat".

And the good news, not only did I survive the meal but thoroughly enjoyed it. 80% of the flan now needs to be eaten as "leftovers" and will make an excellent side dish to some meat dish.

OK .... I have been hiding something wicked from you ......
From blackcurrants in the garden, I made a blackcurrant ice cream! Actually started too late to get the result in for today's Blip. At 23:30 I had to go out to the freezer to give it a whirl as it was getting to the half set stage. Did lick the whisk afterwards and it tasted delicious but the final result cannot be published yet.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.