Arachne

By Arachne

Mondrian on holiday

We've walked from our hotel on the hill in Albaicín down to the river and back so many times that we have run out of new ways to get lost in the steep narrow streets. But this piece of art was a new find on our way down this morning.

We were on our way to El Bañuelo (the old Arab bath). It is similar to Roman baths in layout, but is lit by daylight through octagons and stars cut into the arched roofs. Sadly, it's no longer in use.

This afternoon we caught a train from Granada that climbed up and up through thousands, probably millions, of olive trees to Ronda. The landscape got craggier but still row upon even row of olives filled every space that wasn't too rocky. I was astounded by the scale of the cultivation.

I was so tired last night after I'd sorted through my Gbs of photos that I completely forgot to mention our wonderful blipmeet with guiri. But don't for one moment believe that we didn't have fun! I've now amended yesterday's text.

Sorry I'm not managing to comment at the moment. I will catch up as soon as can. Meanwhile many thanks for all your comments, stars and hearts - all very much appreciated.
(Just discovered that yesterday's hit spotlight! Thank you!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.