blue jobs

Anniemay has a friend who has divided the entire universe of household chores into two separate sets, called ‘blue jobs’ and ‘pink jobs’.  

I use the word ‘sets’ in the mathematical sense here because Anniemay (being an ex-maths teacher) has embraced the concept wholeheartedly - these sets cannot be represented on a Venn diagram because in her mind, they do not overlap.

An example; she called out this morning “can you check the tyres on my car - that’s a blue job”.  

Others include doing things with the dustbins, drains - in fact almost anything that results in dirty hands and broken nails.  Any chore of this nature that is brought to my attention is followed by “it’s a blue job” - just in case I express any doubts.

This idea of ‘blue jobs’ and ‘pink jobs’ is not about gender-stereotyping.  Anniemay has done much throughout her life to promote gender equality.  It’s just that in her mind, there are some things men (i.e., me) simply cannot be trusted to do 'properly'.

Of course some blue jobs are pleasurable; practicing the guitar is clearly a blue job, as is polishing my spanners.

The one I really hate though, starts with a poke in the ribs in the middle of the night; “there’s a funny noise downstairs - can you go and see what it is?”   I know this is a blue job, because that’s the colour of the air as I look for a torch.

ps:  Anniemay has just read this.  She suggests that she is allowed to do 'blue jobs' - but only of her choice - while I am not allowed to do 'pink jobs'  of any sort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.