First moment of the first night...

I was in Edinburgh this evening for the first night of a play based upon a novel I wrote more than a decade ago. This is a picture of the start of the opening scene.

I was very honoured when those involved asked if they could use the book and build a new script on it. My younger brother had already used it to write a screen play but the theatre (particularly on the Fringe) requires a different approach.

Although I was sent the text as it developed I decided (gradually it has to be said) that I wouldn’t read what was being done but instead would go and see it when it was ready. I had hoped to do so in rehearsal but my diary prevented that so I approached this evening with great trepidation , it being the first chance I had to see what Jane Gordon had made of it.

A great deal, it has to be said, and all of it good. I was thrilled at how well the basics of the story had not only survived but been used byher to great effect whilst she has also cleverly and sensitively updated references that could do with changing.

A strong cast , a talented director, a very able script writer and the business efficiency and determination of Jane’s husband Andrew have combined to create , for me at least, an enthralling hour which is both entertaining and thought provoking.

“The Next Big Thing” , presented by Best Of Productions is, again in my view, well worth seeing. It is on in Theatre 1 at Surgeon’s Hall in Nicolson St for the next three weeks. I hope if you go you will enjoy it as much as I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.