The Big Butterfly Count

After a lovely Sunday lunch with M and G at The Dales, G and I went to Felbrigg to sit in the walled garden and do the Big Butterfly Count. In our 15 minutes we spotted at maximum at any one time of:
- 5 Large Whites
- 2 Common Blues (as in my photo)
- 1 Gatekeeper
- 1 Small Copper

Walking around the garden afterwards we also spotted Green-veined Whites, a Painted Lady and a Meadow Brown. It seems to have been a good year for butterflies. You've only got until 12th August if you have a spare 15 mins and want to take part in this worthwhile national survey. 

Another very hot and sunny day in this extended heatwave. Even though I open doors and windows morning and evening and keep my curtains closed, it still reached 31C in my lounge this evening!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.