Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Special Delivery

I have never before today blipped any pictures of myself. Today I am including two, one from before and one from after "big chop #2".

This is three years' growth, which I am donating to be part of a wig for someone with cancer. My last real haircut, in August 2009, went for the same cause. I actually got the chop two days ago, but because I was so sick yesterday I delayed in taking (or, more properly, having R take) the "after" shot.

I don't have beautiful thick hair, and it grows pretty slowly, but I figure that every little bit helps. My mother passed away from breast cancer in 1995 when she was only 49 (I have several friends who are now older than she ever was). I remember that the part she found most difficult in two bouts with cancer was losing her hair. Human hair wigs are very, very expensive, but the end result is really impressive. With donations and some good corporate citizens, wigs can be provided free-of-charge to a person battling cancer.

This is my Remembrance Day gift to my mom. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.