Busker

I was across the street and motioned to ask him if I could take a photo.  "Sure," he said, smiling, "for five bucks!"  I laughed and then he said, "Just kidding! Go ahead!" I really liked the way he was surrounded by the shadows.  I didn't have $5 but I gave him all my change.  Darn good singer, he was.
I had to pick up a few groceries and the young woman in front of me glanced in my basket and said that it looked like I had the makings of a healthy meal. She had 2 sandwiches from the deli, and I said they looked healthy too.  She said that one was for the busker!  I asked her if she knew him.  No, she had just asked him if he'd had breakfast, and he hadn't, so she was buying a sandwich for herself and one for him.  So thoughtful of her!  I asked her if she lived here but she's from Vancouver. She said that it's always good to have a chance to do something nice for someone.  Small acts of kindness go a long way.
A big day today for Kalyn.  She's moving into her dorm at SFU.  Training with the volleyball team starts tomorrow, leading up to the pre-season games in Hawaii and California before the season - and classes - begin.  I had a few tears when I was talking to her this morning.  "Awww, Nanz!"  she said. Our wee Kalyn has started a new adventure.  I have so many memories of our daughter going off to uni, although she stayed at home, and of Krista heading off to Olds in Alberta four years ago.  Time flies by so quickly.  Kalyn is only a short drive from home, so she'll be back and forth plenty, I'm sure - to do laundry and for a good home-cooked meal!  :). We'll hopefully get a tour of her new digs when we FaceTime, maybe tonight.
Krista will be heading back to uni too in a few weeks, but she's commuting so no move required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.