earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Painting and Sweeping

It was very much a day dominated by cricket. First, watching the thrilling conclusion of the first test match against India, after three days of beautifully balanced play. I could wax lyrical about test match cricket when the conditions produce a game of this quality. There were stories within stories within stories. The plot was full of suspense. England had a likely hero in Ben Stokes and an unlikely one in young Sam Curran. India, of course, had Virat Kohli. He was almost all they needed but, in the end, not quite. If he'd pulled off his solitary stand against England, I would still have taken joy from being witness to that. I love watching greatness in action, although I'd prefer it to be Joe Root.

And then it was down to the club for more of the same. Another game which ebbed and flowed, with the result in doubt until the very end. So many games this season have had nail-biting finishes. This one had all but got away from us until Henry came back on for a second spell and cleaned up the tail. He finished with 9-44. His dad, something of a local cricketing legend, never got a nine-for in his entire career. He was down there and watching. A very proud dad. Forrest helped put on fifty for the first wicket, before flashing at one and snicking off for 15. He looked in good touch so it was particularly disappointing to see him depart with a careless shot. 

I was joined down at the club by a very old friend, along with her two grown-up children, on holiday not too far away. She'd recently tracked me down on FB. Until this week, we'd not seen each other in very nearly 40 years. We agreed that neither of us had changed much. They picked a great game to watch.

So, I witnessed some great cricket today, none of which was captured with the camera. It's always good to be reminded of the work that goes into preparing the wicket. I don't ever remember Forrest doing any sweeping at home, and I doubt Robbie did much painting either. He proved to be a pretty dab hand with the brush. And I will be recruiting Forrest to work on my carpets after seeing him in action here. Vacuum cleaners have never liked me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.