Is this the mini-version?

Another full day at the hospital today. The most productive part was the monthly meeting of the consultant psychiatrists, with the biggest turnout of attendees (some by video link) in the just over a year I've been in this job. All because our Director (my boss) was present to discuss new developments. Great to see (and hear) the interest.

 In the absence of the usual chair, I did act as a rather free wheeling chair of proceedings. Mostly I let it run, and a couple of times I was a little thrown off balance as the Director asked me to talk about my projects.

One is aimed at assessing and then improving the use of antipsychotics. Patients and their families often object that we use drugs too soon and too much thereof. A small and quick audit of one service at one time point suggested that in about a third of patients, there were grounds for such concern. Hence, the plan to mount a bigger and more careful audit. I was approached afterward by a young colleague, who wants to take part in the audit; I had told the meeting I wanted help to do it, and here it was. Very pleasing.

On my bike road home, this view at the junction of Park Road with Grafton Road and Grafton Bridge appealed. What we see when we look at things is affected by the perspective we, or our situation, brings to the situation. Something big and domineering can be seen as small if we change our perspective. 

I feel for the good citizens of Portland, Oregon, who have had to suffer the intrusion into their liberal caring city by a relatively small group of mainly white men whose perspective is (in my humble view) seriously distorted. And when the Police took action it was to visit violence upon the Portland citizens who were opposing the hate messages being thrown at them. I hope that no one was seriously hurt, and I wish that the Police and Justice system in Portland could feel able to dispense justice rather than further hatred. What I read in the international Guardian on line over the weekend makes me doubt that justice as fairness is any longer part of the fabric of life in the USA. I wish I could be proved wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.