SilverImages

By SilverImages

Castle Arcade

"Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not."
Ralph Waldo Emerson

A long overdue visit to Cardiff to visit C for a catch-up and family history chat.  I've just about got the hang of the bus services and it's a straightforward journey to Cardiff, albeit two changes to get to Llandaff. Met a Dutch couple along the way, told me how much better the bus services were here than back home in Holland. Interesting to hear that after my standing room only experience recently - a reminder to appreciate what I have available. Time really passed quickly today, maybe because it's been a few months since we've met up and there's been a lot to catch up on. C walked me to the bus stop - probably worried I'd wander off and get lost (ha ha). I took a brief detour into the arcades in Cardiff to get a photo for the day as I had twenty minutes to spare before the bus as due. The arcades are real gems, and fortunately still plenty of businesses trading in them to keep them thriving. Photos done I was back in front of Cardiff castle for the return bus. As I travelled I reflected on my parents and grandparents travels, much of which was by bus and train -not forgetting bicycles of course - in this part of the world. My early career as a QS in Cardiff relied on public transport too of course, so it's a familiar route that I travel with plenty of interesting memories along the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.