a town called E.

By Eej

Maybe I am ...?

A bee climbed up my leg today.
"Oh, honey", I said, "I know the mosquitoes probably told you I'm tasty, but that's just my blood. I don't have anything you might like."
The bee tumbled down because damn you, freshly shaved legs.
"Are you hungry?"I asked the poor bee now crawling around on the ground. "Is that why you can't fly? Sir David said I should give you sugar water. Hang on!"
So I grabbed a spoon and poured some hummingbird food on it. The bee vehemently refused to go anywhere near it.
"Yummy sugar!" I tried to entice him.
"Fuck that" said the bee, "I'll climb on your hand."
This went on for quite some time. Who knew bees are so stubborn?
Finally I emptied the spoon, coaxed the bee on it, told him to hold on tight, and walked over to the Echinacea. "Would you like this?" I asked. The bee climbed on it, looked around and clearly decided this would NOT do, thank you very much, are you kidding me?. So, back on the spoon/my hand he went, and we tried the butterfly weed. This went fairly well until a gust of wind threw Goldilocks (my new bee pet) off the plant.
"WHOAAAAAAAAA!" shouted the bee.
"WHOAAAAAAAAA!" shouted I.
Again I held out the spoon. Again Goldilocks climbed on it, over it, and back on my hand.
"Let's try the milkweed!" I said. "I think I like milkweed," said Goldilocks,"I think I like it a LOT!"
And that was true.
Unfortunately, flying was still not really happening, despite a few fervent attempts, so to prevent Goldi from having to do death-defying acrobatics, I would grab different flowers and hold them together with my hand, so that he could easily climb from one to another. What a grand time was had!
If I noticed the wind picking up I'd hold the stems tight and use my other hand to form a protective shield. If other bees tried to come close I'd hiss at them because well, I had no hands left to wave, and I didn't want to cuss at them. 
Eventually I had to step away to wipe the gushing sweat out of my eyes, and when I came back Goldi had regained the ability to fly and was gone.
And yes, I checked all around the plant to see if the poor thing had fallen off again, several times even, but all was clear, so I'm calling it.


Maybe I'm a bee whisperer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.