A Reasonable Standard of Dress is Expected.....

...in this car.
Your cooperation would be appreciated.

These words are at the entrance to this wonderful dining car at the Thirlmere Rail Museum.

I can assure you I would most certainly have got dolled up to enjoy a railway pie in 1964.

I loved our trip to the rail museum today.
So many memories and so many wonderful exhibits.
I nearly blipped the second extra, and have added details of it below.

This paybus was very important in the days before internet banking.
FP1 was the first paybus used by the NSWGR, having entered service in 1937 as a normal railbus for the conveyance of branch line passengers. In 1938, it was withdrawn from passenger service and converted to a paybus, to convey cash to various stations for the payment of railway employees. It is the sole surviving unit of an original fleet of six, restored by RailCorp apprentices and allocated to Trainworks, Thirlmere for display and operation.

The extras are other items that took my fancy.

I think today I have blipped for six years, but not consecutively, so in fact I've been around for nearly eight years.

Thanks everybody, especially for comments, when I'm such a lousy commenter myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.