Different again

I popped back to count butterflies at the Pipe Hill Heathland tiny reserve - usually a haven for a variety of species.

The rosebay willow herb is neatly frazzled to extinction, the grass is bleached and dead and even the brambles and the blackberries look shot.

No sign of a Meadow Brown, nor a Gatekeeper. Not a Peacock nor a Red Admiral. All these usually put in an appearance. Not on either of my visits during the Big Butterfly Count.

Whites ? A few, but more Small Whites than Large Whites.

And I’ve said before that this is the best place to see the Common Blue. Indeed. Today there were 9 of them, fluttering around closely, but scarcely pausing.

I’ve never seen a Small Copper here before but today there were two, both rather faded, but I managed enough shots at different angles to be certain.

2018 is certainly an unusual summer......I wonder what will be the impact on our wildlife.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.