What a Day! Big 5 in 1 day

The drive today was a huge success. I took very few photos on my phone as I was busily taking photos of all the animals with my two cameras. So here is a scenic photo I took as we looked at a Heron below.

The big 5: Elephant, water buffalo , lion, rhinoceros and leopard. We saw them all today! We’d seen the first three before. But rhinos and leopards are much harder to find.

We came upon a gathering of cars and Land Rovers and learned there was a leopard so we got at the end of the line. There we waited and watched others cut in and stay at the front. We were losing patience. At last we moved forward. The leopard was sleeping in the grass and his camouflage was so good that it took some time to make him out. Finally I saw him. After a short while he lifted his head, got up and sauntered across the road. (Thanks to the folks who held up the line so we were there just at the right moment.) Wow! He was gorgeous. He settled in full view on the other side of the road and rolled on his back. He pulled up his paws and I felt like tickling him under the chin. Of course I didn’t. He was beautiful, plump from a recent meal and very healthy. We were all blown away, even the guides who also took photos.

Soon we also saw two white rhinos, and later three more, also very unusual. And did I mention the family of Hyenas we saw with two young cubs? What a day!

Before our farewell dinner at Buffalo Rock Camp a group of four women sang and danced for us. Then the picked some of us join in the dance. One was me and I had a ball. Now I’m in my tent. I’m packed and soon will go to bed. It’s been a long day as we woke up at 5 am this morning. Tomorrow we are off to Zimbabwe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.