New Paint

One more morning walk to the Kneipp-basin, where a young woman was already busy painting the fence.

I was most impressed by her. Last year on September 9 she was severely injured in an accident, where one of her friends died (weeks after the accident) and 25 others were injured. I remember that day well; it happened in the neighbour village.
She had two pelvic fractures and a brain hemorrhage and said she had to quit school this spring because she couldn't manage it. Still on the road to full recovery she has given up her dream of becoming a doctor and will start training to become a nurse on September 1. She said frankly she's afraid of the physical challenge of a nurses daily work and doesn't think she can make it.

We talked for an hour, me doing my rounds in the cold water, she working on the fence. I may have given her a few new ideas of other careers she hasn't been thinking about - I introduced some to her I come across at work daily (like the hearing aid audiologist, which is a 3 year apprenticeship). She is good with people; I wish her all the best. In pain, but painting fences for a summer job.
She still had some work to do; perhaps meet her again tomorrow.

21:30; 32°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.