Transformed ...

I told you yesterday to watch this space .....

And the moment of transformation has arrived!

As I mentioned on yesterday's blip our little Monarch cat#1 went to the top of the enclosure and assumed the J-hook formation.  We knew it was only a matter of time before the transformation to chrysalis would occur.  We had read that it could take up to 24 hours ..... but in reality it was only about 13 hours.  

I had been watching the caterpillar most of the morning and then around 11:15 am I noticed a change.  The feelers became limp at first and then they got twisty .... I knew the pupating was about to happen.  We had set up my camera with the macro lens so that we could record our first ever transformation from cat to chrysalis!  And as soon as I saw the changes in the cat I started recording.  

It was amazing to watch ..... and brought tears to my eyes!  It really is a miracle of nature!

Richard has worked hard on taking my recording and creating a great video for you all to enjoy ..... here is the link (make sure to hit the play button).  What a transformation!

We now have this one chrysalis, four more caterpillars and four new eggs!  I'm loving this!  Based on what I have read on-line I believe that when this butterfly emerges it will be a male. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.